Mindy Smith CD

Mindy Smith makes Americana-folk-country-pop with a sass often lacking in a genre dominated by purists.  Yet her emotionally probing songs ensure that no matter how sleek, shiny, or perfect she may sound, she's an honest and vulnerable woman coming to grips with the world.  Coproducing with engineer Jason Lehning-and writing or cowriting all 11 tracks-Smith self-titled this album for a reason.  Tracks like "Take Me Back," "Sober," "Devils Inside," and "When You're Walking on My Grave" point to self-revelation.  The beauty here is that Smith doesn't hide her natural talent; she can make even the darkest sentiments sparkle with luminous intensity.  The crisp guitars and harmonies of "Pretending the Stars" sound so smooth and effortless that the track seems like it's been playing on the radio for years.  It's familiar, yet packed with new twists.  In less than three minutes, "Everything Here Will Be Fine" waxes eloquent and brings forth Smith's compelling vocal power on even the gentlest of tunes. - iTunes

CD Details

  • Release Date: June 16, 2012
  • Record Label: Giant Leap Records
  • UPC: 859708100129
  • Number of Discs: 1

Listen Before You Buy