Dear Miss Lonelyhearts Vinyl LP + CD (UK Import)

UK Import Vinyl edition of Dear Miss Lonelyhearts, the 2013 release from Cold War Kids.  Mastered for Vinyl.  Includes CD.

Based on Miss Lonelyhearts, Nathanael West's 1993 novel about the mental breakdown of an advice columnist, Cold War Kid's fourth album, Dear Miss Lonelyhearts, is somewhat conceptual. The newfound energy here might be because former Modest Mouse and Murder City Devils guitarist Dann Gallucci joined the band shortly after original guitarist Jonny Russell departed. Gallucci also helped mix these recordings alongside producer Lars Stalfors (Matt & Kim and Funeral Party). Miracle Mile opens with a piano pounding out notes just as hard as Matt Aveiro's ham-fisted drumming. Over this, Nathan Willet sings with a dire urgency unheard in preceding albums. Lost That Easy follows with muted drum machines and the low, buzzing distortion of synthesizers that recall early recordings of Depeche Mode and New Order. This spills over into Loner Phase, which- with its baritone guitar leads and fluttering keyboard tones - sounds like Peter Hook sat in the mixing chair. This approach fits Aveiro's high tenor like a well-tailored tuxedo. Speaking of which, Tuxedos waltzes with the sweltering soul of the group's first album. - iTunes

VINYL + CD Details

  • Release Date: April 02, 2013
  • Record Label: Downtown
  • UPC: 602537297092
  • Number of Discs: 2

Listen Before You Buy