In The Throes Vinyl LP (Seaglass, Autographed)

Autographed - Limited Edition Seaglass Blue vinyl LP edition of In The Throes, the 2023 release from Buddy & Julie Miller.  The 12-song set was produced by Buddy Miller and features Emmylou Harris, Regina McCrary, Larry Campbell & Teresa Williams, Gurf Morlix, and Matt Slocum of Sixpence None the Richer.

The new album is described as a “deeply soulful collision of dusty country, mournful gospel, cosmic blues, and ecstatic R&B. It sounds lively and diverse, eccentric and slightly askew, thorny with desire and blame.” The collection came to life during an intensely creative period for Julie. She says, “I got deep into songwriting mode, and they just kept coming along.” Buddy watched “with wonder and admiration” as his wife filled up notebooks with lyrics and recorded voice memos with melodies. By his count she ended up with more than one hundred songs—some of them fully written, others simply fragments.

Julie wrote every song on the album with the exception of ‘Don’t Make Her Cry,’ which is a rare co-write between Bob Dylan, Regina McCrary, and Julie. McCrary started the song several years ago, then met with Dylan, who wrote, and rewrote more lyrics. When it came time to write the music, Bob said to Regina to “give it to Buddy Miller.” Buddy then passed it to Julie, who added more lyrics, moved others around, and set it to music. Imagine being given a song by Dylan.

VINYL Details

  • Release Date: September 22, 2023
  • Record Label: New West Records
  • UPC: 607396576111
  • Number of Discs: 1

Listen Before You Buy